I FINALLY FELL IN LOVE!

10626411_793977533976704_7080531791307711851_oIt’s March and no one is happier about that fact than I am!! Finally, the month of February is gone and we can get over Valentines’ Day. First off, let me just say that Valentines’ Day is really the biggest sham ever. I mean, how gullible do we have to be to buy into a holiday that is not even an actual holiday. That aside though, something life changing happened to me.

I fell in love today. Seriously; I fell in love today. I know. I’m surprised as well. It was totally unexpected. It happened on the way home. I know that sounds ludicrous but if you knew where I live and how far it is from everywhere that matters in this country, you would be able to understand that it is perfectly reasonable for a person to fall in love on their way home from Nairobi to Ngong. There is more than enough time. Trust me.

It began with a bus ride.

For the most part, the bus ride was uneventful. It was just another bus full of tired people next to another bus full of more tired people behind nice cars carrying other tired people. I was seated on window seat at the back passing my time in traffic by devouring my latest read ” Sense And Sensibility” by Jane Austen, forced to bear the uncomfortable feeling I always get in the stomach when the bus driver feels clever and keeps revving and jolting the bus in efforts to drive through the cars,buses and lorries all around him. I know that sounds impossible, but bus drivers in Nairobi are everyday trying to defy the laws of science by trying to occupy space that is already occupied.

There we were: moving literally, inch by inch from one bus stop to the next and for the first hour I was totally engrossed in my book.However, when we got to the third stop something happened that caught my attention. The drunkest man I have ever seen in my life walked on to the bus.  That I am saying he is the drunkest man I have ever seen in my life is saying something, since, you know, I attend a University where you can be sure to find persons in different states of inebriation almost 24 hours a day. The man got on to the bus with a look of…. I don’t know… how do I say this… liquidness . That’s the only way to describe him. He was intoxicated to the point where it seemed that his whole body became a demonstration for how the alcohol flowed through his body. He wiggled and wobbled and twisted his way all the way to… you guessed right.. the back bench. Where I was. It takes a lot to distract me from a Jane Austen book but, I can assure you the man did not smell like fresh Hob Nob biscuits right out of the oven and I think we can all agree that suffocation is a good enough reason to be distracted from anything. Even a Jane Austen book.

Suffice it to say, I moved, which was a wise decision as Mr. Doesn’t-Smell-Like-Hob-Nobs decided to lie across the whole backseat. I sat next to a middle-aged gentleman three seats in front of the back seat. You’re probably wondering why this matters in this love story of mine. Well, had I not moved from the back seat. It never would have happened.

As the bus proceeded to the next stop, my new seat mate got off and for a while I sat alone with my bag on the seat next to me and my nose back in my book. I got so engrossed in the story that I lost track of when and where the bus stopped and who got on or off the bus.Then, a shadow passed over my book and I could no longer see the words clearly. There is nothing more irritating to a bookworm than having your light being blocked just when the story is getting interesting and I looked up to show my irritation at the person who had interrupted my story time. That was when it began.

I looked up into all my dreams coming true in the form of a pretty perfect looking man. The first thing I noticed was his height. The man was TALL and not that beanstalk kind of tall, where one is just length without breadth. No, this guy was like a sturdy oak tree, you know, it was evident that he had interacted with the weight section of the gym in a manner highly advantageous and beneficial to his physique. ( I thank God for weights.)Then, I looked at his face… and I can promise you my heart felt the way it feels whenever I see potatoes. All happy and smiley. Then I looked at his hands. I have a thing for beautiful hands and he had those too. I was experiencing a sensory overload. Due to all my being overwhelmed by good looks, I almost missed out on what he was saying to me. He asked if he could sit next to me and I nodded, but he just stood there. Then I remembered that I had put my bag on the seat and he was probably waiting for me to move it so that he could sit. How polite of him not to sit on my bag.

I carried my bag and he sat down. Let me just say: I never thought that anyone or anything in this world could smell better than Hob Nobs…. (Obviously, I really like the smell of Hob Nobs) but he proved me wrong.Now that I think about it, he sort of looked like a Hob Nob, I mean complexion wise. If you’ve ever seen Hob Nobs they are a really warm kind of brown, not too light, not too dark. Just right. (Yeah. I am that much of a foodie.) I mean tall, Hob Nob colored,handsome and smells really good.I mean, what more could a girl want?

There we were; him completely oblivious to me and me completely aware of him. (Story of my love life….!!!) I decided to go back to reading my book, but I was turning pages without reading words. My head was bowed down towards the book but my eyes, my eyes were directed to my right the whole time. For the record, keeping your head down while looking left or right is very taxing on the neck! Anyway, I pretended to read my book while I watched The Man and I noticed every time he moved or fidgeted. I noticed when he took out his very superior looking and sleek phone. I noticed when he noticed that I had developed a crush on him and how it made him obviously uncomfortable. ( Apparently, I am not as subtle as I think I can be.)

At this point, I gave up on Jane Austen and put my book back in my bag and focused on looking out the window.I began to imagine what it would be like if my handsome seat mate was more than just my seat mate. What it would be like if I could lean in and ask him a question or share a knowing look without speaking. I imagine and imagined and in ten minutes I had us married with kids! (If you’re a guy, you should know that girls do this ALOT) At that point , I shook myself out of make belief and began to smile and laugh at myself for the way I was feeling. I thought to myself: ” This is ridiculous.” and that’s when it happened.As I looked out the window, I noticed my reflection. The smile on my face; the laugh in my eyes and I fell in love.

I fell in love with not being in love. I fell in love with not having to deal with all those feelings that can overwhelm a girl when a guy becomes the center of her world. I fell in love with being able to go home to my room and finish my book without having to worry about being interrupted by a text message or a call asking me how my day was or telling me that we need to talk. I fell in love with being in my own space.I fell in love with the fact that real Hob Nobs don’t make me as nervous as men who are too handsome to be real. I fell in love with not having to worry about what someone else is doing all the time and whether or not they are thinking about me. I fell in love with not having someone to take my focus off the things I enjoy. I fell in love with not having anyone to miss, anyone to make me cry or even anyone to make me laugh because I’m learning that my best laughs are the ones I have alone. (Does that make me crazy?)  My goodness, that moment was epic! It was as if God wanted to demonstrate why I should enjoy my time as an unattached, book loving young woman.

The bus came to a stop where I was meant to get off the bus and let me just say, that was the most disorganized alighting I have ever done in my life. There was nothing graceful about it. Apparently, tall and handsome can be inconvenient when you need to get off the bus before the driver gets impatient. So, I clumsied my way over long legs and out of the bus. When my feet touched the ground, I laughed in relief. I could go home and finish my book.

For those who have missed the point. Here it is: Please enjoy where you’re at right now even if you’re in a hard and uncomfortable place. So may times our lives are just a story of how we are single and wanted to be attached or we were married/attached and wished we were single. We spend our years in high school wishing we were in college and our years in college wishing we could go back to high school. People! Get over it. Fall in love with where you are and be happy.

28 thoughts on “I FINALLY FELL IN LOVE!

  1. Nice!!!! All I can think of now is yellow and red flowers!! Falling in love with the things that actually make my heart smile!!! 🙂

    Like

  2. 😀 😀 you’re definitely crazy! (but aren’t we all a little bit crazy? :-p )

    I like the sincerity in this piece. It’s refreshing to read and see myself in your shoes.

    It’s true how we are mostly not contented with our lives, wishing our lives away until it’s too late- when we realize we missed out on the now wishing/hoping for tomorrow.

    I love how the plot unfolds and what a beautiful realization (feels like freedom) it is to fall in love with who you are now.

    ♡ I FINALLY FELL IN LOVE!♡

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Really beautiful, I like the language, suspense… as in everything about the article and most of all, I like the lesson and the admonition. Reading such leaves a good taste in my mouth.
    Now am keeping a tab on this blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Then Microse thought you had fallen in love with the Hob Nob Only for the story to change. Amazing piece Msichana wa Nai. ★★★★★

    Like

  5. Breath-taking.This is a masterpiece Ebby!!
    Well written,clearly expressed.I could picture all the happenings,wow wow wow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

