3 REASONS TO GO AND STAY NATURAL

0b215a3c8fe60348ceea1ca4bb21cd55

Yaaay!! It’s finally here!! My first hair post. For those of you who don’t know…I am the girl with the hardest, kinkiest, most nappy hair on the block…and I love it. At least, now I do. Today, I just want to encourage those girls out there who are on the fence about transitioning, or the Big Chop (that is, cutting off your hair and starting from scratch), those who are frustrated with their natural hair because of breakage, dryness and her cousin tangles: It’s totally worth it. Going Natural. Staying Natural. Thriving Natural. It’s totally worth it and here’s three reasons why:

  1. NATURAL IS NATURAL

I don’t know if that makes sense, but it’s true. Natural is natural. Having our natural hair, growing out of our head without any interference is the most natural thing our bodies can do. I’ve always thought, since I went natural, that I’m the most “myself” I’ve ever been because I just let my hair grow as it should. It’s the same way I always tell people: there’s nothing as attractive as a woman with real, unadulterated eyebrows…the same is true for hair. P.S. Could we please stop trying to reinvent the eyebrow???!…It’s not cute.

  1. IT LOOKS BETTER

I know there are some crazy people who walk around saying absurd things like: “Natural hair isn’t for everyone.” Or “My hair is too hard to manage.” Or “I don’t have ‘good’ natural hair.” Those are all lies. Claiming that natural hair isn’t for everyone is like saying that breathing isn’t for everyone. I mean, how can something you were meant to do, or something you were meant to have not be for you? Also, the only reason our hair becomes hard to manage is because we don’t really learn to manage it. Every single one of us can find a way to manage our own hair. Don’t even get me started on the “good hair” nonsense. We all have good hair. That’s all there is to it and the sooner we realize that, the faster we’ll get to where we need to go. Besides, don’t tell me you haven’t seen how gorgeous natural hair looks. I know you have, and we can all have that.

  1. IT’S YOUR HERITAGE

There’s a Swahili proverb that says “mwacha mila ni mtumwa” which when translated means: “Whoever abandons their culture/customs is a slave” .Your hair is part of your culture and you and it really have no choice in the matter seeing as it’s attached to your head. How you take care of it and what you do to it is an expression of the regard you have for who you are and where you come from. That’s a fact. When we neglect our hair, or force it to conform to some unreasonable standard, we are making ourselves slaves. Yes, yes, I know I sound overly political to some, but when has slavery ever been a non-political issue?  So, before you get insulted, think about it. Read about it. Educate yourself about your hair. You’ll be surprised. I know I was.

Some of you may understand and even believe the stuff I’m saying but you really have no idea what to do and where to start. Well, that’s what I’m here for. My natural hair posts are for us to educate each other and help each other along. I’ll be sharing tips and techniques I’ve learned in the three years I’ve been natural and recipes for hair products that are good for you, inside and out. So if you’re prepared like I am to set your ‘fro and your curls free…like I am… stay tuned.

Till next time: May your breakage be minimal and your length retention be unstoppable. Stay nappy. Be happy. And love your ‘fro.

7 thoughts on “3 REASONS TO GO AND STAY NATURAL

  1. Really awesome, am looking forward to the tips because i have just began that journey. Could you also know natural recipes for the skin. Am trying to go natural on the skin products but so far they are not working. Will really appreciate.

    Like

  2. Simple and helpful! Thanks for sharing Ebby. While reading this something random came to my mind…how after the big chop, some ladies freak out and buy a wig to cover up what they call ‘and ugly head’ until their natural hair reaches the desired length. So it becomes a cycle of treat, wash, style, cover. The transition certainly takes getting used to but take courage and resist this urge. It beats the purpose of going natural then plastering something unnatural on top. Worse yet, your precious head never gets the chance to breath 😦 The look will grow on you eventually. Pun intended 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

